NeemFirst Blog


Bad breath / halitosis can be embarrassing…
1 October 2007, 5:16 am
Filed under: bad breath, candida, candidiasis, halitosis, oral+health+care, pro-biotics

A friend of a friend of a friend asked me a while back about Halitosis, and what can be done to improve or get rid of it. Since I woke up this morning feeling like I’d kissed a baboon’s butt sometime while I slept, I figured I’d write about it today.

First of all, if you’ve been told by doctors and your own experiences that nothing can be done for your bad breath or halitosis, forget it. Know that they are wrong. You simply haven’t been given the proper information to arm yourself against it.  But also know that halitosis is a symptom of other conditions.  There is no “miracle” cure for halitosis if you only treat the symptom. The way to get rid of halitosis is to attack the issues causing it.

Bad breath beyond the normal early morning baboon-butt, or garlic-and-onion aroma, is not something you have to live with. I’m not an expert, and alternative doctors would be much better informed than I, but I’ll tell you how I would attack the problem. Start with researching the web; there’s lots of information out there that I don’t know since I’ve never researched it myself. But there are a few things I do know. All or none could apply to you, and it’s very much like a mystery hunt to figure out the why of persistant bad breath and halitosis.

Taking a daily balanced pro-biotic is an absolute must.  A couple of brands I recommend are PB8, Jarrow, Renew Life.  It’s practically guaranteed that your natural supply and balance of pro-biotics in your gut is out of whack.  It’s also possible that this imbalance has allowed an over-growth of candida (fungus-like yeast) to grow in your gut. It’s imperative that you get this in check, because when candida is involved, bad breath could become the least of your problems. I’m not trying to scare you, but it is serious once the candida gets to the point of puncturing your colon wall and entering the blood stream. But that’s a different post. Look up candidiasis if you’re interested.

Absolutely no alcohol until it’s under control. There’s multiple reasons: alcohol dries out the mouth which makes halitosis worse; alcohol (except tequila) turns into sugar, which feeds candida and makes it stronger. Check your mouthwash. If it has alcohol, toss it and get some from the local vitamin or natural food store. 

Some toothpastes dry out your mouth too. And there’s debate about the true effects of flouride, since its original use was as a rat poison. Perhaps change toothpastes. A good alternative? Neem mouthwash and neem toothpaste at Neemfirst would be an excellent start to getting rid of halitosis, as well as perfect for killing bacteria and fungus, including candida.

I’ll post more tomorrow; that’s enough to chew on for now.

Renée

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

tell us why ‘tequila’ doesnt have the alcohol effect and does not turn to sugar?

Comment by tariq

This topic is quite trendy in the net right now. What do you pay attention to while choosing what to write about?

Comment by Heartburn Home Remedy

Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome blog!

Comment by Laven Master

Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to
my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time
and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
Please let me know if you run into anything. I
truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to
your new updates.

Comment by homemade natural dog treats




Leave a Reply

