NeemFirst Blog


stuff that’s “good” for you
24 September 2007, 2:41 pm
Filed under: herbs, TCM

Here I am, drinking my herbal tea….and all I can think is “ick, ick, nasty, ick.”  I know some typical herbal teas can be pretty downright unappealing…like Dandelion, or Golden Seal, or Valerian.  I’ve tried and use each, as needed. But MAN!  What I’ve got here is a TCM tea… Traditional Chinese Medicine…medicinal tea “prescribed” by my acupuncturist (Master DOM…makes a difference!)   I know he’d admonish that I’m making a bad name for TCM treatment. I’m not; it’s been super effective. But the stuff that’s “good” for you doesn’t always seem so.  And here in America, we’re so used to sugar and sweet stuff….even the cough-syrup over the counter is packed with corn syrup (which, truly, corn syrup IS the most essential ingredient in making a body healthy, yes?)

Anyway, I’ve been drinking these teas every day for a couple of years…the formula changes according to what my pulse tells him (it’s all very facinating…Yoda-like stuff). And yeah….the tea always tastes pretty darn strong and nasty. But you get used to it. I also add to the tea powdered Ginseng (Ren Shen), as instructed by the Dr.  It tastes like old dust. But as awful as the ginseng tastes, it somehow balances out the herbal tea formula…and mellows out the overall puke factor. Well, last week, I ran out of the ginseng, and I’ve had to suffer in taking my tea without it. Which is where I get to the “ick, ick, nasty, ick” part. It’s Awful. I can’t wait till I go back to pick up more “old dust” to add into my tea. Yum!

I’m supposed to drink it hot, which is fine by me. The hotter the better, because the hotter it is, the less I taste it. A lot of “interesting” and exotic things are ground up as “herbs”.   Animal organs, horns, leaves, roots, berries, etc.  TCM is estimated at 4,000 years old in practice, so there’s nothing off limits. It’s all been explored.  I once asked my acupuncturist if he had ever given me a formula with ground-up insects or animal dung.  He paused in the middle of making my latest formula, set his face in a frown of concentration, and replied, “Not dung.”

Wonderful.

Here’s to what’s good for you!

(Renée now drinks what’s left of her tea…COLD)

Synonyms for AWFUL:   abhorrent, atrocious, awful, base, contemptible, cursed, deplorable, despicable, detestable, disgusting, execrable, foul, grim, hateful, heinous, hellish, horrible, loathsome, lousy, nasty, nauseating, obnoxious, odious, offensive, repellent, reprehensible, repugnant, repulsive, revolting, rotten, stinking, terrible, very bad, vile, wretched

yeah….this about covers it.  Except that it’s also very NECESSARY.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

